Register  |  FAQ  |  Search  |  Memberlist  |  Usergroups  |  Log in 
Reply to topic
 Programme supported still? 
AWM_Mars

I see by the many old posts on the forums, it appears to have gone the same way as many other programmes that reach a certain stage, yet remain unfinished, despite what must be years of dedication poured into them.

I have been using 3D modelling programmes for some 10 years, as an artist, so I do not code. Having created my models/scenes, I then import them into scene managers for the application of user interaction, physics, effects such as particles etc. However, many are either heavily bugged, unfinished or no longer supported. Awakening caught my eye as a potential scene manager, but it seems to have gone a similar way to the rest of the crowd.

Even down to the forum registration. I registered some months ago, never got an activation email, when I tired registering recently, it tells me the username has gone and the account is inactive. Then, I register with a new name, and it leads me into cul de sacs like 'website must be empty' (why is the entry box there in the first place?), followed by 'you have entered the incorrect authentication code' in the change profile page, where no authentication code/entry box, exists! These type of things are annoying and unprofessional, yet easily fixed by admin.

I have some questions, so I searched the forums, without result.

1) I can load models, but none of the importers seem to import the materials and or textures.
2) When I create a terrain, I cannot find out how to UV map the materials/textures onto the mesh. Subsequently, I end up with 1:1 mapping over huge terrain sets.
3) How do I untether the camera in 3D view, i.e. why must it be tethered to the center of the selected model, so all I can do is spin around? In other programmes I can freely roam around the whole scene.
4) When I scene build, I rarely use all viewports. How do I create my own viewport layouts?